Finished reading the Custom Homestead book a few days ago, and while the rest of the exercises in the book did give me some great ideas on how to practically get started making this homestead thing a reality, the real juice in it for me was the rabbit trail of related websites it took me down.  I had a great time discovering new blogs and resources, and signing up for new newsletters that I probably won’t have time to read.  It was fun for the moment, anyway…

I know this much about myself after many years of observation – I love starting things, but i’m not much of a closer.  Finishing what I start just doesn’t hold the same thrill as launching into new endeavors, for some reason. I’m sure there’s some deep psychological explanation for it, but my mother used to sum it up this way: “Jack of all trades, Master of none”.  I’m sure she meant it as a warning of some sort, but I like the idea of it on principle.  It’s the same reason I love buffets – you can try a little of everything that looks good, and not fill up on any one thing; the inherent variety of the experience is the true focus.  I tell my friends that if I had Oprah-money, I would eat smorgasbord-style all the time, and find a way to let other people enjoy the rest so I didn’t waste food (my own small plates restaurant, perhaps – except not a snooty “foie gras and porkbelly” type place; just yummy food in small portions).  Ah yes, but I digress.

The buffet-style approach to life is probably not one many would advocate to foster a sense of achievement – of completion.  Understandably.  Not a lot concrete to show for one’s efforts.  The author of the book, Jill, actually encourages behavior of my sort in a way – she offers that it’s not necessary for homesteading to be a full immersion experience in order for it to be beneficial.  In other words, if all I ever incorporate of that lifestyle is simplifying (less stuff to maintain, more time to do the things I enjoy or just appreciate what I have – check), and making better food choices, including cooking/baking more myself naturally and buying less adulterated crap – working on it), that’s good enough.  It all counts.  I like that.  Who knows – it may even lead to my initiating even more steps in the right direction? What that looks like long term, only time will tell…

P.S. – the long trip back to my previous locale is finally complete, and now the search begins anew for a place to hunker down in the RV, start the container garden and such.  Crossed fingers and well wishes very much appreciated.